THE ONE WITH THE IDEA

When you have no idea for a research project, binge-watch How To Get Away With Murder.


Over the weekend I managed something almost impossible (not really). In the span of 48 hours, I managed to watch all 15 existing episodes of How To Get Away With Murder. And boy did I get hooked. Quickly.

This sparked an idea for a digital storytelling project that I could pursue – Binge Watching. I couldn’t be more proud to say that my 2 day conquer of How To Get Away With Murder sparked an idea. But it lead me to think of other shows I binge-watch, and the most significant is probably FRIENDS. I first got the 10 season box-set for Christmas 3 years ago (I think), and I have never looked back. It’s probably my most cherished Christmas present. After that Christmas, I proceeded to watch the entire 238 episodes, in 26 days.ย 

It’s probably my biggest achievement to date.

Since then, I’ve watched the entire 10 seasons four times, but probably more. I use FRIENDS as my ‘background noise’ show. It’s on when I’m cleaning my room, when I’m ‘studying’. I’m pretty sure I watched it throughout my entire HSC (it was only on as background noise, of course). FRIENDS makes me feel so comfortable, and it’s just such a light-hearted show. I love it so much. Thinking about FRIENDS being my ‘background noise’ kind of show, I wondered what other people’s ideal setting for watching FRIENDS was.

Media: TV/Laptop (Screen) FRIENDS

Audience: Binge-Watcher

Place: Home

Are there other people like me? Are there people that have watched the series 10 or more times?

I am determined to find out.

Alas, who knew that watching all 18 current episodes of How To Get Away With Murder could lead to this? I am now obsessed, but that’s not the point here. I have found my research project. Yay!

EDIT/UPDATE:

My project will be a photo-story, of people in their ideal “Friends-watching scenario”. I will then talk to them about why they binge-watch in that scenario and how it makes them feel. I will then back up this research with an infographic on binge-watching data. Yay!


Other posts in the ‘Binge Watching Friends’ series:

8 comments

  1. Friends is definitely my background noise too! I honestly probably don’t go two days without watching at least half an episode, because it’s on so darn much and never gets any less funny! I think, because it is such a big show, it would be interesting to see other people’s perspectives on binge-watching ๐Ÿ™‚ Great idea

    1. Thank you!! I was actually watching friends this morning while getting ready!! I love it so much!

  2. Man if I didn’t know any better I swear you could have been writing about me.
    I’ve watch the whole series countless times. I actually think I bought the very first season when I was in year 6 and so the obsession started. I’m really interested to see how your project turns out. Good luck!

    1. Wow, I only got it a few years ago!! Good job, my friend! Thank you, I’m excited too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I really love FRIENDS and even though I own the 10 season box set which and can binge when ever I feel the need, I still watch it on GEM if I have an evening off work. My ideal binge watching of FRIENDS would be with my sisters and a good pot of tea. We race each other to the punch line of Chandler’s jokes and often moan Hi to each other Ross style when we see each other.
    For me, watching FRIENDS is like coming home to a warm cosy house where my troubles just float away and I can hide under my doona and be comforted by this odd group of friends.

Leave a Reply

It's a Globalised World...

Media and communications student - aspiring blogger - Kmart lover - professional procrastinator

an exterior view

Just a Work in Progress

T H I N K Sam

Sam Noakes

Reasonable Doubt

The diary of Daniel Greaves

Monique Boschan

"I like my money right where I can see it ... hanging in my closet" - Carrie Bradshaw

Attentative Initiative

Facebook: facebook.com/jesse.corcoran.10 / Instagram: jesse_corcoran

Stanbridge Musings

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences"

