The Future Is Now

As my first week of University comes to a close, I can’t help but think about every point in my life that has lead me to this moment. I remember one instance when I was eight years old, I went to my dad and cried and cried about the future. I told him that I wasn’t ready to grow up or go to high school or Uni and that I wanted to stay eight years old forever. Even at the young age of eight, the future scared the living hell out of me.

You see, I’m the kind of person that hates not knowing. I hate not knowing what’s about to happen, I even loathe surprises – yes, I’m one of those people. The future is so extremely unpredictable and frightening, there have been so many surprises and challenges thrown at all of us over the last few years. I mean, a year ago I didn’t think that one of the most important people in my life would join the army, and I can’t help but feel a little overwhelmed at the moment.

I’ve known for a while that I wanted to go to UOW and study Journalism, and when I received acceptance, I was ecstatic! I was truly over the moon. But just finishing my first week, I’m already so completely nervous and scared that I won’t achieve to high enough standards, that I’m beginning to stress.

This point in time is what we’ve been preparing for all through high school, the stresses, the assignments, the horrific HSC. And even though it’s wonderful to be here, and so exciting, it’s nerve-wracking to think that the future is now. This is what we were aiming for. And now it’s another four and a half years (three for most people) of working hard and doing our best so that we can get a job that we’ll love.

We all know that it’s not all smooth sailing. As I said before, the future is unpredictable, it’s just a shout into the void, really. Things may change in the next few years, but I think I’ve come to the conclusion that even though the future terrifies me, there’s something tranquil about letting things happen as the world wants them to happen. I’m not sure if I believe in fate or destiny, but everyone has a path to follow, and there’s something exciting about conquering the future. Together.

“For time and the world do not stand still. Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future”

Love, Lauren

– John F Kennedy

Leave a Reply

It's a Globalised World...

Media and communications student - aspiring blogger - Kmart lover - professional procrastinator

Anchor

The tide always changes

an exterior view

Just a Work in Progress

T H I N K Sam

Sam Noakes

Reasonable Doubt

The diary of Daniel Greaves

Monique Boschan

"I like my money right where I can see it ... hanging in my closet" - Carrie Bradshaw

Attentative Initiative

Facebook: facebook.com/jesse.corcoran.10 / Instagram: jesse_corcoran

Stanbridge Musings

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences"

